

MEMBERSHIP OF SENATE FOR THE SESSION 2024/25

The members of Senate shall be as follows:

(i) Class 1 - Ex officio

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Evelyn Welch

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Provost Professor Judith Squires

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors: Professor Michele Acuto (Global Engagement)

Professor Tansy Jessop (Education)

Professor Guy Poppy (Research and Innovation)

(from 1 October 2024)

The Faculty Pro Vice-Chancellors Professor Ian Bond (Science and Engineering)

Professor Esther Dermott (Arts, Law & Social Sciences) Professor Jeremy Tavare (Health and Life Sciences)

The Deans Professor Sarah George (Health and Life Sciences)

Professor David Manley (Science and Engineering)
Professor Martyn Powell (Arts, Law and Social

Sciences)

The Associate Deans Professor Melissa Allen (Arts, Law and Social

Sciences)

Professor Ian Nabney (Science and Engineering)

The COO, Registrar & University Secretary Ms Lucinda Parr

The Director of Library Services and

University Librarian

Mr Ed Fay

2 Sabbatical Officers of Bristol SU

Miss Gurvin Chopra (Postgraduate Education Officer)

Miss Lucy Pears (Student Living Officer)

(ii) Class 2 - Heads of Academic Schools or their nominees

Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences

School of Arts Professor Tuomas Tahko
School of Economics Professor Paola Manzini
School of Education Professor William Browne

School of Humanities Professor Alison Donnell
School of Modern Languages Professor Natalie Edwards
School of Policy Studies Professor Karen West

School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies Professor Therese O'Toole

University of Bristol Business School Professor Veronica Hope-Hailey (until 30

September)

Professor Brian Squire (from 1 October)

University of Bristol Law School Professor Catherine Kelly

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences

Bristol Dental School Dr Barry Main

Bristol Medical School	Professor Chrissie Thirlwell
Bristol Veterinary School	Professor Tim Parkin
School of Anatomy	Professor Michelle Spear
School of Biochemistry	Professor Nigel Savery
School of Biological Sciences	Professor Nicholas Roberts
School of Cellular & Molecular Medicine	Dr Darryl Hill
School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience	Professor Hugh Piggins
School of Psychological Sciences	Professor Michael Banissy

Faculty of Science & Engineering

School of Civil, Aerospace & Design Engineering	Professor Ian Craddock
School of Chemistry	Professor Craig Butts
School of Computer Science	Professor Mike Fraser
School of Earth Sciences	Professor Alison Rust
School of Electrical, Electronic & Mechanical Engineering	Professor Aydin Nassehi
School of Engineering Mathematics & Technology	Professor Anthony Mulholland
School of Geographical Sciences	Professor John Wylie
School of Mathematics	Professor Oliver Johnson
School of Physics	Professor Jennifer McManus

(iii) Class 3 – Academic and other professional post-holders – Ex Officio

Associate Pro Vice-Chancellors Dr Mark Allinson

Professor Michele Barbour Professor Alvin Birdi Professor Harry Mellor Professor Marcus Munafò Professor Palie Smart Dr Kate Whittington Dr Liang-Fong Wong

Executive Director of Faculty Operations Mrs Mary Millard

Chair of the University's Ethics of Research Committee Professor Matthew Brown Executive Director for Education & Students Ms Paula Coonerty

(iv) Class 4 – Academic Staff

Dates indicate period of election to Senate

Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences – 4 vacancies in this category - to be confirmed in due course

Dr Alex Clayton, School of Arts	2022-2025
Professor Ruth Glynn, School of Modern Languages	2022-2025
Dr Benjamin Pohl, School of Humanities	2022-2025
Professor Leah Tether, School of Humanities	2022-2025
Dr Amy Edwards, School of Humanities	2023-2026
Professor Jonathan Beaverstock, University of Bristol Business	2023-2026
School	
Dr Angeliki A Papadaki, School of Policy Studies	2023-2026
Mrs Antonia Lythgoe, School of Education	2023-2026
Dr Jennifer Collins, University of Bristol Law School	2023-2026
Dr Maxine Gillway, Centre for Academic Language and Development	2024-2027
Professor Tom Ellson, Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship	2024-2027

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences - 4 vacancies in this category - to be confirmed in due course

Dr Tristan Cogan, Bristol Veterinary School	2022-2025
Professor Nicholas Timpson, Bristol Medical School	2022-2025
Miss Sarah Bain, Bristol Dental School	2023-2026
Dr Gibran Hemani, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026

Dr Joanna Howarth, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026
Professor Astrid Linthorst, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026
Professor Richard Martin, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026
Dr Peter Allen, School of Psychological Science	2022-2025
Dr Lauran Goodhead, School of Physiology, Pharmacology and	2023-2026
Neuroscience	
Dr Chris Kent, School of Psychological Science	2023-2026
Dr Stephen Montgomery, School of Biological Sciences	2023-2026

Faculty of Science & Engineering 8 vacancies in this category - to be confirmed in due course

Dr Ruzanna Chitchyan, School of Computer Science	2022-2025
Dr Hermes Gadelha, School of Engineering Mathematics and	2022-2025
Teachnology	
Dr Dinesh Pamunuwa, School of Electrical, Electronic and	2022-2025
Mechanical Engineering	
Dr Suchandrima Das, School of Electrical, Electronic and Mechanical	2022-2025
Engineering	
Dr Meng Wang, School of Computer Science	2023-2026
Professor Charl Faul, School of Chemistry	2023-2026
Dr Zoe Leinhardt, School of Physics	2023-2026

(v) Class 5 - Students

i. Undergraduate Representatives

Aleena Garr, Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences
Lucy Loades, Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences
Charlie Gazzard, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences
Yanyan Liu, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences
Yuqi Lin, Faculty of Science & Engineering
Ana Beatriz Quelhas Oliveira e Moreira, Faculty of Science & Engineering

ii. Postgraduate Representatives

Antonia Voigt, PGR, Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences Emre Tancan, PGR, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences Marvin Byakatonda, PGT, Faculty of Science & Engineering